sweet baby girl | Santa Fe, NM Baby & Children’s Photographer

Baby girl in green hat, standing in field of yellow flowers

I spent an hour or so last Thursday with this little cutie, whose first birthday is right around the corner.  (You might remember her from another post, here.)   Her mom had mentioned all the gorgeous yellow flowers that we have been seeing around Santa Fe, and I couldn’t have been happier!  I have had my eye on those flowers too, so we found a field that was packed full of them, and went to work. :)

baby girl wearing hat in a field of flowers

Baby girl in green hat, standing in field of yellow flowers

I’m never sure how a baby is going to react when you set her down in the middle of a big patch of flowers or grass or whatever.  When I was a little girl, I was very sensitive to things that I thought were “itchy,” so I just automatically expect other children to be the same way—but this little girlie was more than happy to hang out in that big sea of yellow!

Baby girl in green hat, standing in field of yellow flowers

I had spent the morning with my family in Albuquerque, and driving back home to Santa Fe I watched the huge black clouds gathering with not much hope for our scheduled session.  I was SURE we were going to be rained out; and even if it didn’t rain, I expected it to get cold and dark.  HOWEVER, what we got instead was a nice breeze, low dark clouds, and beautiful dramatic lighting!  Now THAT is a surprise I don’t mind getting!

Baby girl standing in field of yellow flowers

I think the first birthday is such a special time in a baby’s life; of course every birthday is special, and every *moment* is special!  But the close of that first year marks so many changes and such a big jump from “newborn” to “toddler.”  I love photographing this age.  One, they don’t usually mind my camera at all; and two, they are so natural and small and curious.

Baby girl in a field of yellow flowers, with a rocking horse

Baby girl on a wooden rocking horse in a field of yellow flowers

Thanks for allowing me to spend some time with this precious little girlie!  I hope these photos will bring back wonderful memories for years to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

