{color & texture} | Green!!! and Calvinball

I’m not sure about the rest of the country, but here in Santa Fe we have been seeing signs of SPRING!!!  (This is NOT including yesterday when my husband saw snow falling, or today when I have the heat running…)  But for the past couple of weeks, the weather has been warming up, nice enough to even go out without a jacket at times, and Monday I found all kinds of green stuff sprouting!  I was downtown by myself (!! how often does that happen?!) just “for fun” to see what there was to see and take some photos while I was at it (THANK you honey!!) ;) and I definitely had green on the brain, so therefore that became this week’s color & texture challenge.  The thing is, with green and spring, green usually appears along with other colors as well, and I decided that was okay this time. ;)  (Hey, it’s my game, I can make up the rules as I go!  It’s like Calvinball!)

 

So without further ado, presenting…  Downtown Santa Fe, in the spring!!  Starring—Green!  With Other Colors in supporting roles…

(Yes, I do need a nap.  No, I’m not going to take one; I have a book waiting for me.) :)

 

Pine tree closeup

Tiny green buds on a tree

Flowers sprouting, leaves budding

Greenery sprouting

Green wrought iron bench, and hanging chiles

Bench with peeling green paint

 

While I was wandering around, I made the super happy (!) discovery that many of those rows of quaint little shops downtown aren’t actually that deep; every once in a while they’ll have a sort of passage that goes through, and the most beautiful little courtyards are hiding back there!  Several of these were taken in those little hideaways, which were just bursting with brand new sprouting flowers and greenery.  Sort of secret-garden-ish, but no crow, no key, and no Dicken. :)   Okay, and not really *secret* either, just not so obvious!

So my mind is full of great spring portrait session ideas for those pretty courtyards!  I think I’ve mentioned before that I was a little bit at a loss for on-location ideas, and now I have a great place to start.  If you are interested in booking a session this spring, just shoot me an email at gtzphotography@gmail.com for more info, or you can check out my website at http://www.gtzphotography.com!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Baby Photography, Children's Photography, Family Photography, Goals, Hue & Texture Challenge

One response to “{color & texture} | Green!!! and Calvinball

  1. diane porter

    i want to see each and every one of these places in person when i come for a visit :) soooooooo preeettttyyyy.

Leave a Reply

