{ color & texture } | creative inspiration

 

So, I finally decided to jump on the bandwagon (a few months late) ;) with Marta Locklear’s photography challenge.   For a while after our move, I felt a little bit creatively dry.  I’m not sure if it was all of the busy-ness that goes along with a big move and settling into a new home/city; or maybe the radically different landscape and scenery, nothing at all like the bright greens and pinks and blues that I’ve loved before; or the lack of old friends who don’t mind if I shove a camera in their face (or their children’s faces)…  ;)  Whatever the reason, I felt like I needed an inspiration of some sort.  I’ve followed Marta’s blog off and on for a while, and her weekly challenge interested me from the beginning; but for some reason I put off getting started.

(Okay, I know why I put it off: I have a history of not finishing what I start, and lately I’ve been dragging my feet about starting ANYTHING because I’m tired of unfinished projects.)

But, the time for procrastination has come to an end!  I am in on the personal creative challenge!  Marta’s plan in a nutshell:  Each week she gives herself a certain hue and texture to creatively photograph.  The only “rule” is that the image shouldn’t just *contain* the hue/texture; it should primarily *be* that hue/texture.   I may use the same specifics as she is using for a given week, but I probably won’t. :)  I will most likely go with what is interesting to me at that moment, knowing me! ;)

 

So, since I’ve become a puppy-walking-champion, today I dragged Gus-Gus along on my inspirational walk.  He was less than thrilled (he hates snow and cold), although he did enjoy the two grass patches we managed to find.

(Now I feel like I should include a picture of my little shivery walking buddy.  Please hold.)

Cutie-Pie Puppy in LeavesHe’s not all fancified like my other pictures because he was a last-minute addition.  Don’t worry, he doesn’t feel left out.

 

So, in the spirit of the daily details being the sweetest (remember this post?), I decided to use our current cold, blah, winter weather and landscape for my first challenge.

 

Hue: Brown/Gray;  Texture: “Outdoors” (Is this a cop-out?  I don’t think so!  Marta’s first texture was “unlimited”!) :)

 

Knot on Coyote Fence

Looking at this knot on my computer, I noticed that it almost looks like a heart from this angle.  I like it.  Happy early Valentine’s Day!!

 

The wind was gusting a little, making it very tricky to get this lovely tumbleweed thingy in focus.  (Is it called tumbleweed before it starts blowing around?  I haven’t lived here long enough to know all of this technical stuff.  This is the plant that becomes tumbleweed, at least.)

 

I absolutely  L O V E  the image on the right.  It feels so wintery and cold and almost ethereal.  (I am hesitating to use that word, not sure if that is really what I’m trying to say, but at this time of night, it works!) ;)

 

 

The last image is hands down my favorite from this week.   (Okay, now that I think about it, that white one above comes pretty close.  Maybe the hands aren’t ALL the way down.)  I don’t know what to say about it, except that I think I might make a huge canvas out of it and hang it on my wall.

 

I hope you’ll enjoy following along with this project!  It is more for my own personal enjoyment than anything else, but I wanted to share it here too in the hopes that others might just enjoy getting a look at little pieces of where God has placed us, or that it might inspire some of you to try something similar!  If your “thing” isn’t photography, make it about whatever you enjoy!  Maybe you write or draw or quilt or craft or cook or decorate or whatever it is; just try to look at it in a new way!  Don’t get bogged down in the same old perspective.  Take a fresh look at what’s around you, and you might be surprised at how beautiful it is!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Hue & Texture Challenge, Personal

Leave a Reply

