{ Lovely Things }

 

“The best things in life are nearest:

Breath in your nostrils,
light in your eyes,
flowers at your feet,
duties at your hand,
the path of right just before you.

Then do not grasp at the stars,
but do life’s plain, common work
as it comes,
certain that daily duties
and daily bread
are the sweetest things in life.”

–Robert Louis Stevenson

 

Lately something that I have been *trying* to remember (and doing fairly well some of the time) ;) is that there is so much beauty in all of the little everyday-ness of our lives.  I think my problem is probably pretty common, but I so easily get distracted by the things that don’t really matter in the long run–

the kids woke up earlier from their naps than I was planning, and so I had to set aside something I was working on;

Victor had different plans for his day off than I did, and now I am forced to reschedule;

someone said this or didn’t say that;

I dropped the stupid spoon AGAIN (*PLEASE* tell me I am not the only one driven CRAZY by this!!  Does anyone else ever drop something multiple times in a row and feel like you’re going to physically EXPLODE from the frustration?!?!?!) :)

Okay, so you get the picture.  SHOCKING though it may seem, my life is very far from perfect, and *I* am even farther from it!!

 

But then in among the crazy this-and-thats pulling my attention all over the place, every once in a while I remember to pause and really SEE my life, my family, my beautiful children and all of the blessings God has given me.  They are more important than a blog post (ahem) ;) or reading a magazine article or a perfectly organized kitchen or knowing exactly what is going to happen in a given day (HA!)

 

The other day I was getting ready for…. something, I don’t remember what, and I was sneaking in and out of my bedroom because Zachary was sleeping in there and I didn’t want to wake him up.  I went back and forth several times before I really noticed how sweet he looked.

 

Small boy asleep in large bed

 

If there is one thing I’ve heard over and over, it is that life is not going to slow down ANNNNY time soon (especially since we just got a puppy…)  I hope I can remember to slow MYSELF down and appreciate all of the little, daily-duty-sort of beauty all around me.

 

“Look for a lovely thing, and you will find it;

It is not far–it never will be far.”

(Sara Teasdale)

 

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “{ Lovely Things }

  1. Pingback: { color & texture } | creative inspiration | gtz photography & design

Leave a Reply

