{ upcoming designs }

 

Since our move, I have been spending more time in front of the computer than behind the camera, for the simple reason that I’m not ready to make an all-out effort at finding new photography clients yet.  I am busy with all the aspects of still trying to get settled in our house; more importantly, since our big car accident, we still don’t have a car (although we hope to change that soon, maybe tomorrow even??!), AND I don’t have many contacts for babysitters yet.  All of that could be gotten around if I realllllllllly wanted to–but I’m enjoying the break!

So, to fill in the “creative outlet” hole left by the missing portrait sessions, I have decided to expand gtzphotography a bit to include design work as well!  I’ve always been interested in designing products to be used with portraits from my sessions (like photo cards, albums, etc.), but I decided to go even beyond that and include some simple, personalized stationery and other related items.  (Or not related…  ;)  Basically whatever floats my boat!)  You might have noticed the logo in the header now includes “& design”; yes, that is new!  I thought I’d upload a tiny peek of some of the notecards that will be available for sale in the shop soon (these are all folded notecards, 4.25 x 5.5″ when folded):

I have a lot more to do to get all of this up and running, but I’m super excited about this new dimension for the business!  I have always *loved* paper and pens and all of that “stuff”; I remember going to the grocery store with my mom as a child, and begging her to let me go look at the “pens and pencils aisle.”  I’m not quite as obsessed as I used to be, but there is just something about the look and feel of a beautiful thank you card or a sheet of designer paper or a great pen…  ;)  Am I right?!?  Tell me I’m not the only one who feels that way!!

Gabriel has been keeping an eye on all the work being put into my new project, and he keeps telling me, “Mommy, I want this card to be for us.  Can we make it for us?”  He is getting tired of all the vague “it’s for the shop” answers–I think that still means nothing to him.  He needs something more exciting than a file on a computer screen.  He’ll be happy to learn that I’m going to get some samples printed up soon. :)  Then nothing will be holding me back from getting them up in the shop!!  I’ll be sure to put up a link when that time comes!

The less glamorous part of house-wifery awaits me…  Getting dinner going…  I am so wishy-washy about cooking—half the time I love it, and half the time I would almost rather just eat some Burger King (although, judging from the last couple times I’ve had something from there, those days are just about over…)  I *would* love me some Schlotzsky’s tonight though…

Leave a comment

Filed under Design

Leave a Reply

